Three Queens in Mourning & Bonnie Prince Billy - Hello Sorrow

Three Queens in Mourning & Bonnie Prince Billy - Hello Sorrow

  • £29.00
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Three Queens in Mourning first gathered in summit to sing celebration of the publication of Will Oldham’s book of collected lyrics, 'Songs of Love and Horror'. Alasdair Roberts (Appendix Out), Jill O' Sullivan (Jill Lorean), and Alex Neilson (Trembling Bells, Alex Rex) each arrived provisioned with a small armful of selections nearest and dearest from Bonnie Prince Oldham’s far-reaching catalogue.

Three Queens in Mourning’s takes on these tunes follow naturally from the fit between Will’s words and their three distinctive voices. Alasdair Roberts’ sweet, guileless delivery of 'Christmas Time in the Mountains' amplifies the lacerating quality of the lyric “we need an enemy / I’m saving all my rage for you”; even if at the outset of the song we’re told that “time is the enemy,” the abiding sentiment—the red-hot word that organizes my memory of the song—is rage.

Ali’s and Jill’s trading of verses on 'New Partner' puts a different spin on what had previously registered as an especially mercurial first-person narrative voice, one that swoops between tenderness (“lay back, rest your head on my thighs”) and ecstatic self-absorption (breaking it to the ex to whom the song is addressed that “I’ve got a new partner riding with me”).

Add Alex’s voice, not only for his madcap “Lost Blues,” but as part of the choir on “Ohio River Boat Song” (a song with origins in the traditional “Loch Tay Boat Song”), and these three Scottish accents singing about the muddy Ohio, Smoketown, Oldham County, and Floyds Knobs, I mean, there’s not much else this Kentuckian—these are all deeply familiar landmarks—can say.

Type through tears. On this back to back records, The Bonnie 'Prince' Billy LP is a collection of three cover versions from Ali, Jill and Alex directory and one original track. Three Queens in Mourning / Bonnie 'Prince' Billy is a collaboration between Will Oldham (Bonnie Prince Billy), Alasdair Roberts (Appendix out / Drag City), Jill O Sullivan (Jill Lorean) and Alex Neilson (Trembling Bells, Alex Rex) Sleeve notes by David Grubbs

Three Queen in Mourning / Bonnie Prince Billy (Will Oldham/Palace/BPB covers)
1  Stablemate
2  Christmas Time in the Mountains
3  Lost Blues
4 Madeleine Mary
5  No More Workhorse Blues
6  No Such As What I Want
7  I See A Darkness
8  Trudy Dies
9  Tonight’s Decision 1
10  Darling
11  New Partner
12  Ohio Riverboat Song

Bonnie Prince Billy
13  Coral and Tar
14  Coward song
15  Dead Man
16  Wild Dandelion